Previous Home

Next

No. 15 (375) December 2022



SIC ICWC HAS BECOME A MEMBER OF THE WORLD WATER COUNCIL’S BOARD OF GOVERNORS

The 9th General Assembly of the World Water Council was convened in Paris on the 10th of December and elected the Board of Governors for the 2023-2025 mandate. SIC ICWC has been elected to the Board with 164 votes. The Center has become the only organization from the Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia region to serve in this governance body.



The World Water Council (WWC) is an international multi-stakeholder platform organization, co-organizer of the World Water Forum, whose mission is to mobilize action on critical water issues at all levels, including the highest decision-making level, by engaging people in debate and challenging conventional thinking on water security. The Council focuses on the political dimensions of water security, sustainability, and resilience.

The World Water Council has about 400 member organizations, which come from 60 countries. The ultimate authority of the World Water Council is the General Assembly of Members. The General Assembly meets at least once every three years and elects and appoints a maximum of 35 members to the Board of Governors who oversee the general operations of the Council in between the General Assemblies. To ensure a balanced representation of the various stakeholders within the governing body of the Council, members are classified into five different colleges: College 1: Intergovernmental institutions; College 2: Governments and government authorities; College 3: Enterprises and facilities; College 4: Civil society organizations and water user associations; College 5: Professional associations and academic institutions. Each college is guaranteed with a minimum number of four seats on the Board of Governors. SIC ICWC has been elected from College 1.

While serving on the Board of Governors, SIC ICWC is going to increase representation and voice of the Central Asian region on the world water arena as one of the regions subjected to water and climate risks, push more ‘solutions into practice’ approach in the World Water Forums and other activities of the Council, and use more extensively the tools of water diplomacy and transboundary water cooperation.

К предыдущему выпуску К оглавлению

К следующему выпуску

No. 15 (375) декабрь 2022 г.



НИЦ МКВК СТАЛ ЧЛЕНОМ ПРАВЛЕНИЯ ВСЕМИРНОГО ВОДНОГО СОВЕТА

10 декабря в Париже состоялась Генеральная ассамблея Всемирного водного совета, на которой проходили выборы в Правление Совета на период 2023-2025 гг. НИЦ МКВК получил 164 голоса поддержки и вошел в Правление, став единственной организацией из Восточной Европы, Кавказа и Центральной Азии, представленной в руководящем органе данной организации.



Всемирный Водный Совет – это международная многосторонняя платформа, со-организатор Всемирного водного форума, целью которого является мобилизация действий по насущным вопросам, связанным с водой, на всех уровнях, включая самый высокий уровень принятия решений, путем организации обсуждений с вовлечением различных сторон, с критической оценкой традиционной точки зрения. Основное внимание Совет уделяет политическим аспектам водной безопасности, устойчивости и адаптации.

Совет представлен 400 организациями-членами из 60 стран. Каждые три года созывается Генеральная ассамблея Совета, на которой избираются 35 членов в Правление Совета. Правление контролирует общую деятельность Совета от имени его членов между Генеральными ассамблеями. Для обеспечения сбалансированного представительства разных заинтересованных сторон внутри руководящего органа Совета члены подразделены на пять коллегий: Коллегия 1 «Межгосударственные организации»; Коллегия 2 «Правительства и государственные учреждения»; Коллегия 3 «Предприятия и инфраструктура»; Коллегия 4 «Организации гражданского общества и ассоциации водопользователей»; Коллегия 5 «Профессиональные объединения и учебные заведения». Каждая коллегия обеспечивается минимальным количеством из четырех мест в Правлении Совета. НИЦ МКВК вошел в Правление в составе Коллегии 1.

Будучи представленном в Правлении, НИЦ МКВК намеревается повысить «голос» Центральной Азии на мировой арене как региона, подверженного водным и климатическим рискам, продвигать для обсуждения на Всемирных водных форумах и другой деятельности Совета практические решения, а также активнее использовать инструменты водной дипломатии и трансграничного водного сотрудничества.